In most education system, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is good idea or not?

it is often argued that written examinations are beneficial in assessing what students learned in the class. A vast majority of people opine that these type of exams is not a good way to gauge a student's knowledge. However, others refute this supposition and think that it has adverse ramifications. In my opinion, I strongly believe that educational systems must continue to use written examinations in schools. this essay will first elucidate the pertinent points of views to substantiate my assertion, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, it is without doubt that a written exam develops a student's self-awareness about the level of knowledge he or she acquired during the lessons. As a matter of fact, this type of examination encourages students to memorize what they learned. To cite a prime example, a recent study shows that 90 percent of school learners retain what they learned after participating in the annual assessment exams. Thus, it is quite evident the written exams significantly help a student to retain what he learned.

Furthermore, written examination promotes a healthy competition between students. Certainly, every students are competing to have the highest score when they have a written exam to prove that they learned more than their fellow student. For instance, it a study showed the 85 percent of school children prepare for an examination with the purpose of outwitting their classmates. Hence, it is clear that written examinations encourages students to be more competitive.

In conclusion, considering what has been discussed about, it is indeed a good idea the educational institutions should asses students through written exams.