Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

Some consider, television to be an integral part of one's lives, wherein we get to know about the latest happenings around us. Man being a social animal needs a companion to talk and listen. Some people who live alone consider television as one of their companion as well. However, there are other means of communication which have taken over the need of a television in the life of an individual.

Gone are the days where people could watch movies only in theatres or on their television sets. With the evolution of smartphones, people prefer using their mobile phones to cater to their need of entertainment. <font size="4">These devices are portable and people can use them on their go, unlike television sets that are installed in the houses at a fixed place. </font>Companies such as Netflix or Amazon Prime are leading in the market capitalization of entertainment industry. With internet facilities any news or information can be passed on to people in a fraction of seconds. This has reduced the need of watching news on television.

However, the above is true only for a group of people. Family members who spend most of their time in the house, namely housewives or aged people prefer watching television. Most of their leisure time is spent by watching different programs or news on these sets. They are not much accustomed to mobile phones and other latest technologies.

To conclude, for some television has become an obsolete device as other gadgets have evolved with better enhancements and features. However, for some it still serves as a medium of entertainment and an imperative part of their lives.