Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

To what extent do you agree?

Over a period, we have seen a significant increase in the number of women being employed by companies. Many of these organisations are driving the inclusion agenda to bring about gender equality at work. Though we see an overall increase in female employees, we still see a disparity at executive levels, as these are still dominated by men.

Since ages, women have been associated with domestic chores and family responsibilities which has undergone a transitional change, we see more females taking up office jobs. However, some people still have not been able to change their ideology and have not accepted females at leadership roles. They are of the belief that women need to adhere to family calls, as such they are not able to attend meetings during late hours, take up additional responsibilities or accept transferrable jobs. To force in equality, companies have started building leadership roles that are dedicated for females. This mandates companies to groom and hire deserving female employees and help them contribute towards the company’s profitability.

However, allocations should not eclipse the importance of calibre and merit. It is imperative to give opportunities to deserving candidates which should not be influenced by caste, gender, creed or colour. Organisations can run forums to groom female employees, but it should not be mandated to hire basis their gender. For example, Accenture has started a leadership DNA agenda that identifies females of high calibre at various levels, trains them for the next level and promotes inhouse talent development. This has resulted in workforce diversity at higher positions. Such change will also bring about a sense of equality and competitiveness amongst the masses.

To conclude, reservations only act as a favour which can be used irrationally by many, to avoid such instances it is important to open doors of opportunities equally to males and females. To bring about a change in the thought process of some individuals, there can be trainings for all the employees, bringing about a change in the work culture and growth for all.