The only thing that interferes with my leaning is my education- Einstein. What does he mean by that? And do you think he is correct?

Education is the acquiring of knowledge, skills, habits, values and beliefs from our teachers and seniors. In our traditional or conventional education system the content of the education is limited to already established customs and practices. We only learn the knowledge, which has been discovered or invented earlier. The format of the education limits the learning of the students to only cramming and the exams are also a test of more or less the “retention power”. In this essay we shall be discussing both the arguments.

Firstly, when Einstein gave this statement he experienced that students learn through a formally designed education pattern restricting their thought process. In fact, formal education limits the doors of imagination and creativity. There is little chance for exploring things, because the best way to learn something is to experience it. Thus, students are not encouraged to think out of the box and search for solution themselves. They all are expected to provide the same answer which is in books. This example shows why Einstein believed that formal education hinders the process of learning.

However on the contrary, if we started allowing kids to say, they do not need school they would probably learn nothing, as most of the average student does not have the motivation or interest to master something on their own. Einstein was exceptional. As we cannot expect that all students would be as capable as Einstein, so it is really necessary to impart the basic education, knowledge & skills to children, like reading and writing in order to survive in this world. They usually need school to learn and understand the existing principles and practices and can improve upon it according to their interests and capabilities.

Lastly, the education systems have undergone a lot of changes, recently, in order to enhance the cognitive abilities of the students. For example in Stanford University, usually a mentor is assigned to few students, who would not interfere in the learning process of the students. This helps the students to develop creative skills and think out of the box. The mentors are only there to be their guide and help them if they are approached and they share their experiences with the students. This way the students would be completing their studies in their own way and style.

In the end we can conclude that the present education system has evolved from its traditional approach to be more student friendly which encourages them to bring out the best of the talents and abilities to the world.