Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal example.

Recently the phenomenon of children’s unusual acts has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question, “are parents legally responsible for their children’s acts?” Whereas, it is a widely held view that parents cannot control the behaviors of their children all the time. I will discuss the controversial aspects of how children’s acts are influenced by their parents.

In terms of children’s nature, they love to imitate others rather than obeying the commands. Consequently, children’s childhood learning starts by observing and imitating their parents. For instance, toddlers start to utter those words which they often listen from their parents. As a result, if any adolescent speak bad words to his classmates, there is an obvious chance that his parents use those words in front of him.

Another facet worth discussing here is that we may often see few youths are engaged in quarreling to each other, which might also be imitated from those parents who often fight to each other. A study conducted by the University of Adelaide revealed that 2 out 5 high school going children become quarrelsome due to the family influences. Furthermore, due to lack of attention from working parents, children are gone astray in often cases.

Despite the inevitability of the fact, some people argue that parents cannot guide their children at all point of their life, thus parents are not responsible for their imbalanced acts. These people must be aware that the first foundation of children’s learning is their parents’ home. Therefore, I believe parents are held legally responsible for their children’s acts to many extent.