In the past 100 years, there have been many inventions such as antibiotics, aeroplanes, and computers. What do you think is the most important of them?

One of the greatest inventions of the nineteenth century was the invention of the method of the invention. The above quote sums up how the last two hundred years have been when it comes to innovations which have changed the course of history. There have been many contraptions devised to serve mankind as well as to satiate personal gains, but none have had the power as widespread and as life-altering as that of a computer.

To begin with, the concept of computer-or a computing device was first brought to the for by the English mathematician Charles Babbage and the first computer which was built weighed almost fifty tonnes! We have come a long way from there, where nowadays computers are so minuscule that they can fit in a palm and have computing powers so enormous, that a typical smartphone these days has more computing power than Apollo III when it landed on the moon.

Computers are so ubiquitous and are used in everything, right from the most complex jobs like the manufacturing of airplanes to the simplest of jobs like multiplication of digits. Even assembly-line production of antibiotic medicines and vehicles is impossible to think of today without the help of highly sophisticated computerized systems.

Moreover, with the seamless integration of artificial intelligence in computerized processing, we have reached a stage where computerized devices can sense human emotion and defeat human begins at mental games such as 'go' and 'chess' requiring superior cognitive skills. Just last year, the program AlphaGo defeated the reigning 'go' champion of the world at an event in South Korea. This shows how far computers have come.

To end with a quote from Albert Einstein, "Computers are incredibly fast, accurate and stupid; humans are incredibly slow, inaccurate and brilliant; together they are powerful beyond imagination".