Nowadays, the mass media including TV, radio and newspaper have become the essential part of our lives. What is your opinion?

In the last few decades, mass media has been the biggest propaganda tool used by countries, governments and people alike. It is used to share news, propagate views and is also used to malign identities by spewing hatred about them. Using mass media as a boon or a bane depends on its transmitter. In this essay, we will shed light on both the pros and cons of this man-made monster, which we call mass media.

To begin with, mass media encapsulates all the major mediums of communication, including newspapers, television and the internet. Each of these has its own set of users and reach. But in the last few years, undoubtedly, the internet has been the most ubiquitous source of information. There is hardly any place in the world today where the internet is not present because of the proliferation of smartphones. Also, television is the most common household device. News channels these days have become a conduit for powerful business conglomerates to spread their messages to people sitting in the comfort of their bones.

Moreover, so many mobile applications or 'apps' have burgeoned these days, which have made people social media addicts. People are glued to their smartphones for so many hours and spend time on various apps such as Facebook, Whatsapp, and Twitter, which are very powerful mass communication channels. A recent example of the impact social media has is how the American president Donald Trump used Twitter almost every day during the presidential campaign despite overwhelming odds against him becoming president. People were almost hypnotized by his tweets-messages on Twitter, so much so, that America saw the most massive voter turnout in its history.

Lastly, people should use their judgment while using social media as whoever controls the media controls the mind.