Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

One of the most conspicuous trends in today's world is the colossal upsurge in the number of vehicles on the roads. There is widespread worry that it would only lead to the myriad of concerns. Some believe that government should construct more roads to accommodate more vehicles, I am of the opinion, improving public transportation is the only way to cope with this apprehension.

On the one hand, critics believe that possessing one's vehicle is the inherent right of every citizen and government should take appropriate action to provide the space for more cars on the roads. For example, in Sydney number of personal vehicle rise from 20 percent to 64 percent in last decade, and therefore, the number of roads increased exponentially.

On the other hand, there is a deluge of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that public transport is the only way to keep the traffic congestion in control. Not only can the improved network of public transport reduce the traffic jams during peak hours but can also decrease the environmental degradation caused by the increased cars. Take newly extended train route on "Campbelltown Line," according to the ABC News: it reduces the traffic congestion up to 10 percent in the area. Hence, it is apparent that why many are in favor of developing public transport system rather than investing money in constructing more roads.

In the view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of strengthening transportation infrastructure are indeed too great to ignore.