Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

Nowadays, there is a colossal upsurge in a trend to see that citizens emphasize on the government to construct new roads and bridges to alleviate the traffic jams created by private vehicles. However, this concept would add further to the burning question of environmental degradation. I am of the opinion that rather the network of public transport should be strengthened to accommodate more passengers. In this essay, I shall discuss the key points on both the sides with a plausible conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad of merits which can be attributed to the improving network of public transport. The most conspicuous one is that with more people using public transport to commute less traffic would be there on the roads. Not only this concept would make the travelling fast due to less traffic but it will also save tons of fossil fuel which is a scarce resource of any nation, be it an affluent or impoverished nation. Needless to mention, all these merits stand the ecosystem of nature in good stead as far as pollution is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect of my argument is that efficient public transport would encourage private car owners to switch to the mode of transport from person vehicle to government transport as it proffers the advantages like convenience and affordability. Moreover, public transport covering every nooks and corner of the country will also give privileges to countryside population which is essential for the overall growth of the country.

To recapitulate, from the above-mentioned arguments, one can conclude that, to reduce the problem of traffic and pollution, improving public transport has far-reaching impact in positive terms than building more roads since merits of strengthened public transport are too great to ignore.