Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in people believing that governments should construct more roads to accommodate more vehicles. There is a widespread worry that this would only lead to a myriad of concerns. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious consideration.

There are a number of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that public transport is the only way to reduce traffic on the roads. Not only can the improved network of public transport reduce traffic jams in the peak hours, but it can also decrease the environmental degradation caused by the increase number of cars. Needless to say, all these benefits stand government in good stead as far as clean environment is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect is that, thanks to the public transport it will be more affordable for people with low income such as students and elderly people. Future more, private car users will be motivated to use public bus as they will be able to save money they used to spend on petrol. Hence, it is apparent why public transport is necessary rather than investing money on constructing roads.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of strengthening public transport infrastructure are indeed too great to ignore.