Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

Nowadays, there is a colossal upsurge in a trend to see that citizens emphasize on government to construct new roads and bridges to alleviate the traffic jams created by private vehicles. However, this concept would add further to the burning question of environment degradation. I am in the opinion that rather network of public transport should be strengthened to accommodate more passengers. In this essay, I shall discuss the key points on both the sides with a plausible conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad of merits which can be attributed to the improved network of public transport. The most conspicuous one is that with more people using public transport to commute, less traffic would be generated. Not only this concept would make the travelling fast due to less traffic but it will also save tons of fossil fuel which is a scarce resource of any nation, be it an affluent or impoverished nation. Needless to mention, all these merits stand the ecosystem of the nature in good stead as far as pollution is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect of my argument is that efficient public transport would encourage private car owners to switch to the mode of transport from person vehicle to government transport as it proffers the advantages like convenience and affordability. However, on the flip side, usage of more private vehicles would lead to some perennial issues like wastage of natural resources, which are used to manufacture the vehicles and, proper recycling and disposal of used cars.

To recapitulate, from the above-mentioned arguments, one can conclude that, to reduce the problem of traffic and pollution, improving public transport has a far-reaching impact on the government and society as a whole. Hence, merits of strengthened public transport are too great to ignore.