University will deduct the student's score for a late assignment. Opinions and solutions.

The concept of deducting marks on the assignments which are submitted after the due date has become a debatable issue. Myriad of academics argue that penalizing students for such indisciplinary act is must whereas rest of the people believe otherwise. My viewpoints coincide with the above-mentioned statement. Both the opinion and solution have been discussed in the following essay.

There are myriad of arguments in favor of my viewpoint. The most conspicuous one is that by penalizing students for late submission would instill the discipline and seriousness in them which would play a very crucial role in achieving their long-term goals. Moreover, it would teach them one very significant principle of life that everything is valued only if completed on time and thus it would make the students realize the importance of cultivating the habit of timely completion of their work.

On the flip side, few demerits overwhelm the potential benefits of this rule. Firstly, it would prove to be demotivating and demoralizing for the hardworking students, if a reason for late submission was unavoidable. Thus, in such condition, scoring overdue work negatively is definitely unwarranted. Hence, professors must analyze the reason behind such indiscipline and take the appropriate action which does not harm the moral of the sincere students unnecessarily as the reaction of the mentor plays a major role in creating a healthy mind and attitude towards the life.

To recapitulate, it is the duty of the teacher to make the student prepare to face the harsh reality which life entails and thus cultivating discipline and seriousness towards fulfilling their responsibility on the time is must, hence penalizing at the school or university level for overdue project work is justified. However, genuine reasons should not be overlooked.