What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying the plays and theatrical arts which were written centuries ago?

Nowadays, there has been a colossal upsurge in learning the century-old drama and plays as the part of the curriculum in schools, be it in an affluent or impoverished nation. However, this trend has both the merits and demerits, which are discussed with the suitable example in the following essay.

There are myriad of benefits which can be associated with the studying plays and drama which were written years ago. The most conspicuous one is that it makes the students aware of the traditions, customs, rituals, and lifestyle of the bygone centuries. This form of art not only succours in understanding the behaviour of their ancestors but it also teaches the valuable lessons from the mistakes which their forefathers had made. Moreover, theatrical arts enhance the creativity in students that would lead to broadening their horizons. To Exemplify, famous playwright Shakespeare’s works have immortalized his time, he is known as a dramatist of every century.

On the flip side, in the cutthroat competitive era, aspirants are expected to excel in their academic and make their career promising by attaining high degrees in the field of sciences. Furthermore, comic, tragic and romantic plays will work as a distraction in the mind of the vulnerable and sensitive youth leading to taking imaginary flights on the wings of fantasy. In addition to, such escapism affects their mental growth and they become sceptical in human dealings.

To recapitulate, from the above-outlined arguments, we can conclude that potential benefits of classical writing in the development of the mental and emotional growth of youngsters can be overwhelmed by a few downsides if the pedagogical approach is not followed.