Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on fame and good faith or on short term strategies like discount and special offers? And in what ways this can impact on their reputation? Why?

The importance of marketing strategy, was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of clothing and food company's marketing strategy has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on company's reputation in recent years. It can be agreed that premium quality products should not be rely on short term benefits, but some people claim that this is the only way to do a business. This essay will elaborate impact of short term marketing strategies on companies reputation and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why 50 percent discount is not available every time in popular brands but the most conspicuous one steams on the fact that they have done market research on consumer needs. Those companies are giving special offers on particular period of time such as festival or events. For instance, H&M is big brand in the world for clothing which gives higher discounts on end of the year. Thus, this can prove that It has worked for one and will work for others as well.

On the contrary, some people adopted an opposing view and tend to believe that small business are only able to make money to give them good price. For example, K-mart is providing cheap food in the market which attract customers but not those who doesn't want to compromise quality.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the importance of giving discounts is not a short term strategy,although there are number of drawbacks those should not be over-looked.