Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on fame and good faith or on short term strategies like discount and special offers? And in what ways this can impact on their reputation? Why?

Recently, we have witnessed a new trend among consumer goods companies offering frequent discounts and special offers, especially companies engaged in clothing and food segments. Proponents are debating over this phenomenon stating that for competing and surviving in this turbulent time organization should adopt innovative sales and marketing strategies.

However, opponents have different views arguing that offering huge discounts and special offers can be detrimental for the image of the company. In this article, I will discuss both the aspects of this much prevailing practice.

To begin with, it is proven that consumers tend to purchases more when they come across special offers. Many foods and clothing giants are able to generate a massive amount of sales volume out of such schemes. For instance, recently, one of the largest fast food magnets has registered enormous profits by matching their discounts during the festival seasons. Moreover, many clothing companies were able to cash their mammoth inventories by offering lucrative deals.

On the other hand, frequent offers can also tarnish and project brand poorly in the market. People will become skeptical about the brand and a company. For example, recently untimed sales scheme had backfired for one of the supermarket chains. Furthermore, consumers were complaining about the deteriorated quality of goods sold.

In conclusion, from the above examples, it is evident that, if timed properly and executed efficiently discounts and offers can be boon for the companies, otherwise it can be turned in to the ban and fatal.