Smoking causes cancer. Cigarette companies want to reduce the age from which people can smoke to 12 years old. Governments believe that only adults should be allowed to smoke.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position.

Smoking is injurious to health which is known universally and its enjoying it's widespread popularity among young people. In order to raise the sales of cigarettes, tobacco companies are in favor of diminishing the age up to 12 years old for smoking, albeit the government bodies want to restrict it up to adults only. This essay will discuss the two reasons why governments should not allow these organizations to accomplish their goals and smoking should be permissible for mature people only.

To commence with, smoking is inclined to addiction which is hard to get rid off for many smokers. And children at age 12 are an easy target to get trapped into this life threatening web. According to many health specialists, children who commence smoking at an early age get addicted to it quickly and rehabilitation is the only solution for them to get rid of smoking. Therefore, government bodies should always keep the smoking permissible for adults only so that the youngsters can't avail it.

Furthermore, smoking cigarettes is bad for growing bodies. The lungs in children develops completely up to the age of 18 years and if these young people starts smoking at an early age their lungs may not develop properly. Young smokers, for instance, may suffer from many lung diseases including lung cancer as well. Hence, smoking which affects adversely to developing children should not be get exposed to it.

This essay has explored that smoking from the age of 12 can make the children more addicted to it and can also impact their growing bodies adversely. Overall, I strongly believe that government should keep its accessibility to adult people only and should not permit the cigarette companies to reduce the age for smoking up to 12 years old.