The use of plastic for packaging, drinking straws, and other single-use, disposable items has increasingly been highlighted as disastrous for the environment. Many online petitions have been set up to demand food manufacturers and supermarkets change their packaging. Should single-use plastic products be banned?

Plastic is everywhere destroying our environment adversely. The online campaign against the use of plastic by consumers and producers for packaging is gaining its popularity. This essay will discuss the feasibility of ban on single-use plastic products and argue that a world wide ban should be introduced.

Plastic has made the lives of both producers and consumers so convenient. Several plastic items such as cups, plates, and shopping bags etc. provide the easy and hygienic way of packaging, transporting and carrying any thing. However, people have set up many online petitions against the food manufacturers and supermarkets to change their packaging and switch to biodegradable materials for packaging. Although these materials will be expensive, but it will environment friendly.

Having said that, plastics are littering everywhere including land, and ocean both. The plastic wastes are killing the animals on both land and in sea. A recent study has shown that over 80 million tonnes of plastics have been found in the intestine of a whale fish that has been a reason for her death. Therefore, all the single-use plastics should be banned worldwide in order to save our planet.

This essay discussed how the ban of plastics for packaging will hamper its producers as well as consumers because of the ease it serves but it will be switched by the more environment friendly packaging. In my opinion, the single-use plastics should be banned all across the world to keep the environment safe.