Some people believe that academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking.

The importance of people having different views on what subjects should be included was always a debatable topic. Many people think that practical subjects provides more advantages to students. Others reject this notion and believe that both academic and practical subjects are beneficial to students. In my opinion, later proposition appears to be more rational. The following essay would further elaborate both practical and academic subjects are equally beneficial with justifying reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To start with, it is believed from various factors that learners gain more benefits when studying practical subjects. Firstly, as students are exposed to so many skills, they would be better prepared for their future careers. For example, if children are taught how simple machines work at school, they are more likely to choose career as mechanics later in life. Secondly, students could apply what they have learned through practical sessions after classes. A best example is that after students learn basic dishes' recipe, they immediately start cooking for families at home.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that academic subjects are also hold equal importance like practical for a variety of reasons. One of the most basic feature is that academic subjects creates strong solid foundation on which practical skills are further developed. To illustrate, teachers find difficult to explain how to fix home appliances if students are not well prepared with the fundamentals of electricity which could only be found in physics lessons. Another important value of academics, in order to get admission in top level university or college learners need to have good knowledge of academic subjects.

In conclusion, although children are advised to learn practical subjects, I am of the opinion that both practical and academic subjects plays an important role in shaping student career.