Some people believe the large shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. What is your opinion?

As times have continued to change so has the nature of buildings that are coming up to accommodate the new trend which is the shopping malls. Smaller shops are becoming fewer day by day been overtaken by the malls. I think the two can co-exist if each person stays afloat to survive in whatever business he is dealing with.

Shopping malls are generally frequented by mostly the high-end people and the middle class, hence seen to be out of reach by people of lower incomes. With the increasing population of the middle class so is the is the number of people who visit to malls, be it to sight see and make future plans of what they will buy based on what they see. Shopping malls bring with them convenience, as everything can be found at one go in a building. This is in terms of beauty shops, clothing shops, supermarkets and banks. In some malls there are also two or more shops that venture into the same idea for example clothes, or shoes with this type of shops, it brings about alternatives in people's purchasing power as they can quickly compare prices hence making an informed decision on what to buy and at what costs.

The shopping malls also create employment opportunities as many people are employed to check on the security, cleanliness of the malls, as well other people who bring entertainment items for kids to enjoy themselves with. with the ever-increasing busy schedules of people. The malls save on time as everything is found at one go within the vicinity.

With the small shops, they still cater for the other people who will only go to the malls to window shop and maybe create an idea of what they would like to have in the future. People who frequent the shops have bargaining power with the shopkeeper and get to the extent of taking items on credit as they create a bond between an individual with the shopkeeper. The small shops are there for people who want to buy the quick items without having to go to the malls.

In conclusion, in my opinion the two will be of great benefit to the population depending on who frequents the other, hence replacing one for the other might end up hurting a portion of the population.