Some people believe law changes human behavior. Do you agree/disagree?

These days, there is a controversial debate between members of society about the impacts of law on human’s behavior. There are a great number of people who interpret the impacts of law on our behavior as thoroughly constructive, while others hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that law causes some beneficial changes on human’s behavior, and such practices should be promoted.

There are several reasons why law fosters significant changes in the way an individual acts inside the society. First of all, it is argued that law plays a pivotal role in creating adroit person. This is attributed to the fact that regulations define what is allowed for an individual to do and what is forbidden; therefore people would know their boundaries and no one would violate everybody else’s defined rights. Such behavior will create a feeling of trust and confidence inside a community which would lead to general prosperity of a nation. Specifically, a research study conducted at Yale University found that living in cities with robust regulations enhance the people’s intellectual abilities so that they are able to make more concrete decisions.

In addition, it is claimed that the law has a considerable influence on the illegalities rate. This is to say that if a person knows that there might be a chance of being condemned to jail for doing a specific action, he would reconsider going down the path. Take driving for example, even the best skillful drivers are so conscious about the way they drive inside populated areas as they know that if violated the driving rules, there would be severe consequences for them.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounded the view that the law changes the human behavior in an efficient way. It is expected from institutions to take cognizance of these facts and utilize the power of law in order to benefit their performance.