Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

I agree with people who say that too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills, in all levels of education.

Since I was child, I've been studying in different sorts of institution and I could realise- mainly when I started to work - that most of the time we spend more time in 'what' or 'why' do something than 'how' do it.

For sure I believe it's important to know the theory through what 'things works'. This knowledge encourage the reflection, the research and so on.

That's why the education standard is: in one side there is a teacher explaining the subject and in another side there are the students trying to learn everything.

Usually, there are few practical classes, when we can really develop our skills, for example: laboratory and computer classes.

Even in my university course - industrial engineering- there are few practical tasks.

That's why I think the structure of education could be more balanced in terms of theory and practical skills. In this way people would be more capable to cope with personal and professional problems.

I believe that some institutions have already realised the importance of this balanced education. Some evidence to prove it: the increasing number of study cases and tasks which involve real problem like solving a marketing problem in a real company. Other evidence is the increasing number of MBAs offered around the world.

Therefore, I agree that we need to promote more the practical skills, but, as I see it, this change has been occurring.