Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars.
To what extent do you agree?
Laws against criminals have become tougher with that said, the crime rate has also
increased. As a result, criminals are getting extended prison sentences, which in
my opinion is not the correct way to deal with. this essay will argue that
rather increasing the prison sentences we can use the alternative ways to reduce
the crime rate.
Extended prison sentence can have a adverse impact on a criminals mind. With an
extended jail term he may either fall into depression or start thinking about ways to
take revenge. this kind of situation can be avoided by applying alternative ways
towards the well being of a prisoner.
Rehabilitation programs inside jails have always been a success. Recently lot of
jail authorities have started coming up with youth programs, cultural events and
mental health programs. this helps a criminal who is also a human being to
become part of something which connects them to the outside world. With these
programmes they try to come back into their original self.
this essay argued that prison sentence does not bring any improvement on a
criminal's activities whereas connecting them to outside world using well being programmes
do make a difference. In the end, we can conclusively say that criminals should be given
chance for improvement using alternative ways.