In town and cities the large shopping mall should replace the small local shop Do you agree or disagree

With the development of science and technology, shopping styles also changed for the benefit of mankind. There is a heated debate whether small shops should be replaced with colossal shopping malls. This essay will discuss convenience for the public as a merit of shopping malls and higher price as a disadvantage.

Shopping at a department store is a pleasant experience and it saves time. Ample parking facilities are available and all the items are available under one roof. People visit large shopping complexes with their families and participate in recreational activities such as watching movies and playing certain games in addition to purchasing food, clothes and other items. Therefore, shopping mall concept fulfills additional human necessities and make human lives easier.

On the other hand, some items in shopping malls are rather expensive. The investment on infrastructure and maintenance cost of a modern shopping centre is immense compared to a traditional shop. Same food items are available in small boutiques or traditional fair at a cheaper price. Hence, increased price is a disadvantage of large shopping complexes.

In summary, customers are able to experience a fun filled enjoyment in mall culture in addition to buying items even if prices are expensive. In my opinion, although prices are higher, due to the convenience and affluent background and hygienic environment big stores should be promoted instead of small shops.