In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion?

The role of tour and travel in underdeveloped countries is widely debated with many people claiming that tourism has undoubtedly led to the loss of local traditions and lots of wastages which deteriorate the environment. However, I believe that tourism apparently provides the potentials for further development of the nations. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various reason why tourism should be promoted significantly and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that travel and tourism offer massive avenues to impoverished and underprivileged countries which fractionally or largely increase their gross domestic product. Furthermore, it provides a job market thereby increasing the employment locally. In addition, it transcends the political boundaries and improves the cross-cultural understanding in terms of ideologies, beliefs and customs among nations.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks which can certainly overwhelm the potential benefits of tourism in poor countries. The most alarming one is that local people imitate the lifestyle, culture, customs of the international visitors which eventually results in loss of a country’s traditional culture. In this way, adults and mostly youngsters fall prey to some unacceptable activities like drugs and prostitution. Moreover, promotion of tourism sometimes leads to astronomical wastage of limited resources and results in environmental degradation. Hence, it is apparent that tourism has some serious concerns.

In views of the arguments outlined above, the impact of tourism is prominent on poor nations although necessary steps should be initiated by the government to handle the downsides.