In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion?

The role of tour and travel in underdeveloped countries is widely debated with many people claiming that tourism has undoubtedly led to racial discrimination and lots of wastages which deteriorate the environment. However, I believe that tourism apparently provides the potentials for further development of the nations. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin, there are various reason why tourism should be promoted significantly and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that travel and tourism offer massive avenues to impoverished and underprivileged countries which fractionally or largely increase their gross domestic product. Furthermore, it provides a job market thereby increasing the employment locally. In addition, it transcends the political boundaries and improves the cross-cultural understanding in terms of ideologies, beliefs and customs among nations.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks which can certainly overwhelm the potential benefits of tourism in poor countries. The most alarming one is that international visitors are often subjected to racial discrimination, humiliation and even mocked upon. In this way, there is a change in their attitude towards the country visited and can adversely affect its development wholly. Moreover, promotion of tourism sometimes leads to astronomical wastage of resources which increases the pollution levels resulting into environmental degradation. Hence, it is apparent that tourism has some serious concerns.

In views of the arguments outlined above, the impact of tourism is prominent on poor nations although necessary steps should be initiated by the government to handle the downsides.