When recruiting new staff, is it more important for a company to look at a candidate’s academic qualifications or his/her personality and ability to work with others? Support your opinion with appropriate reasons and examples.

This days, with the growing demand for specialists in the job market all over the world, the question of proper candidates recruiting has become a subject of considerable debates. While some companies tend to hire people based purely on their academic degree, others pay more attention to the personality and ability work in team. This essay will analyse the topic from different sides and show that personality skills, as well ale the ability to be a team player, are mor important than any academic qualification.

To begin with, the personality skills, also known as soft kills, such as communication, self-responsibility and attitude are remarkable for the complexity to train and develop. On the contrary, an academic qualification usually targets development of hard skills, which include knowledge in certain areas and good level of practical experience. For example, the latest research performed by the Institute of Career Development in Australia shows that candidates with good personality skills have about 40% higher chance to get a job in world known companies, like Google, Microsoft or Apple.

Another pivotal point to mention is that being a a good team player usually brings more value to a company by synergizing skills of other team members and pushing the combined efforts for achieving better results. Another interesting research by an independent journalists taken for the Association of Head Recruiters in Australia reports that companies primarily seeking for candidates with good ability of team work tend to show about 55 to 85 higher annual grows.

Finally, despite the obvious importance of the proper academic qualification to properly fulfil a role in a company or certain team, I firmly believe that soft skills, which include personality and ability to work in team, are usually more beneficial for company and bring better value.