Whether studying films at schools is as important as studying literature?

Nowadays, the role of pursuing films at school level is widely debated with many academics claiming that studying films has no value in the later lives while others argue that choosing literature is the safest option for students. Although I strongly believe that students should pursue subjects as per their interest, children should choose films over literature as it is more practical. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

First and foremost, studying films involve lots of efforts, time and patience that most students lack. It is well-known that award-winning directors who turned out to be world-renowned have worked hard and succeeded in presenting some good films to the audience. In addition, most parents believe that choosing literature is better than struggling for years to make good films and become successful. Thus, studying literature has significant advantages that cannot be ignored.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks that can overwhelm the potential benefits of choosing literature over films. The most conspicuous one is that studying literature is boring and students may experience early burnout in their career as compared to those who find films as an interesting, entertaining and a diversified career. Furthermore, it is highly likely that youngsters who pursue a career in literature don’t earn handsomely than those who earn a fortune as a film director. Therefore, it is apparent that studying films offer a beneficial platform to young people.

This essay discussed the potential benefits of studying films and the implications of pursuing literature. In my opinion, the merits involved in studying films outweighs the downsides of studying literature at schools.