While prisons should punish criminals, others believe that the primary function of the prison is to help them how to have better lives. What do you think is the main purpose of the time spent in prison: punishment or rehabilitation?

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the function of the prison is one of the biggest issues which the society is facing. While some people believe that the prisons should punish criminals, others advocate that the role of the prison is to help them how to have a better life. As far as I am concerned, help criminals re-adapt to society will be more beneficial in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance of punishment are primarily focusing on insistent social justice. The main reason is that people who commit crimes need to repay their social responsibility, which is to receive punishments in the prison. If they just live in comfortable rooms and receive a proper education, it is unfair to law-abiding people.

Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that the prisoners deserve an opportunity to back on track of healthy lives. The main justification of this view is that there are 90% of convicts will return to society after they are released from prison; therefore, by equipping prisoners with proper education and practical skills, they can truly distinguish the good from the bad and integration into society life faster.

In a nutshell, although this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that the function of the prison should be to help the prisoners return to the right path, not pure punishment.