Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views and what action will you recommend to take?

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that some universities will deduct marks from students' late works is one of the big issues which the students are facing. While some people believed that deducting marks can improve the bad habits of delaying assignments, others advocate that the universities have other ways to remind the students of submitting assignments on time. As far as I am concerned, the universities can use different alternative methods without deducting marks.

People who emphasized the importance of deducting marks from late assignments are primarily focusing on the significance of punctuality. They advocate that it can help students develop such concepts and always meet deadlines in their future employment.

Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that developing a helpful habit must rely on the positive approach. The main justification of this view is that people are always more interested in reward when they finish their work before the deadline. That is to say, the universities can provide extra reward such as certificates or prizes for the students who completed their homework in advance.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that using alternative methods has more beneficial in respect of this issue.