Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views and what action will you recommend to take?

The controversial topic with respect to students' mark of their works in university never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether some universities should deduct marks from students works who give in late. From my perspective, I tend to advocate regarding this issue.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that universities should deduct marks of those late submissions without a proper reason due to the fact that it is a fair and effective policy to ensure the justice for every student. This is because the deadline is set to give every student the same maximum time to finish their assignments, but those who give works lately will have more time to complete their tasks. Therefore, deducting marks of the late submissions can maintain fairness for those students who hand in assignments on time.

On the basis of the above reason, there are many solutions that can mitigate this problem. Firstly, universities should take action to build up their notification system, such as sending reminders three days before the deadline via school email. In addition, tutors can provide additional help for students who have difficulty finishing their assignments, which means removing obstacles for students to complete their works.

Given all the points discussed above, I can conclude my opinion that universities should deduct marks from late submitting works. Meanwhile, they can remind students in advance of the deadline and provide additional help for students.