As you read the passage below, consider how Eliana Dockterman uses • evidence, such as facts or examples, to support claims.• reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence.• stylistic or persuasive elements, such

Eliana Dockterman builds an argument to convince her audience that there are benefits to early exposure of technology. She convinces us, in her passage, “The Digital Parent Trap”. She shows us about how introducing technology to kids at an early age can be beneficial. She explores the techniques of concession and statistics and data to help persuade us.

Dockterman shows many strong signs of using concession in her passage. One example is in paragraph 2, “Yet, according to the latest findings from the research firm Grunwald Associates, barely half of U.S. parents agree that mobile technology should play a more prominent role in schools.”(Dockterman 2) She compromises her ideas, by using research from other more prominent places. She uses this as a strong technique of convincing, and influencing.

Secondly, Dockterman shows more signs of using statistics and data. This helps her convince us, because we want to know more. She states, “ By all measures, this generation of American kids (ages 3 to 18) is the tech-savviest in history: 27% of them use tablets, 43% use smartphones, and 52% use laptops”(Dockterman 1) This is telling us about how many people already use electronics already. This alone can convince us that many people are aboard this idea. This helps convince us even more.

Dockterman uses many techniques to persuade us. Through it all, she uses statistics and data the best, and most. She uses these in a way to make us believe that technology would be beneficial if learned from an early age.