1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of argument purportedly asserts that the woven baskets are not just made by palean people and such an artifact were discovered in other place. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that these baskets have been discovered only in adjacent of palea village and were made by palean people. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if palean village were only place that this artifact has been discovered. One point that should be considered is that maybe people who made these baskets were from different nations and emigrated to the palea village many years ago and settled in this place. Indeed, there is no evidence to show that whether these people were originally born in palea village or not. It is also important to say that in ancient time many people were used to trade with other places and there is possibility that these baskets originated with other people.

The author also attributes that archeologist have been found same baskets in Litos near the palean village across the Brim River. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects, due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that Litos was in vicinity of palean village and there is possibility that palean people were in rush, moving in and moving out and in this way, maybe Woven baskets were carried to the Litos village. Alongside that, perhaps people used from these baskets for their daily works near the rivers such as fishing and there is possibility that Woven basket had dropped into the river and remain for many years until discovery of archeologist.

Finally, as set forth by the author the River is deep and broad and palean people could have passed it only with boat. In addition, no boat were discovered in this River. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if people were used only boat in order to crossed the river. One point that should not go unnoticed is that evidences has shown that ancient people were proficient in construction such as building or bridge and so forth. There is possibility that palean people have built bridge on the Brim River in order to cross the river easier. Moreover, maybe boats shipwrecked into the river and decomposed entirely in passage of time due to the fact that River is deep and broad.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premises.