35.The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country. "The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dan

The author concludes that it is better to make a contract with Appian Roadways for paving all access road of the new shopping malls. The argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that after four years the paved route by Appian Roadways is in good condition but the road which Intentions Roadways has been paved 2 years ago has some damages. However, Scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that two roads have the same condition this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the weather conditions play an important role in the life of a paved road, or the traffic conditions, heavy traffic lead to make damage on the surface of the road sooner. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly states that the 2 roads exactly have the same environment and traffic.

The author also claims that Appian Roadways purchased new machinery, therefore, it can pave in a high quality. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between buying new machinery and building a long-lasting road. To illustrate further, the Good Intention Roadways also could use the same machinery. If the argument had provided evidence that shows technical specifics and compares the machines then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that Appian Roadways hired a new quality control manager. However, the survey of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for author's opinion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, is hiring a new quality-control manager leads to having better quality? Without a convincing answer to this question, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by the author are not substantive.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of the roads. Ultimately, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what is reasons for making these differences between Route 110 and 40.