According to a recent report cheating among college and university students is on the rise However Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeav

While it is possible that the new honor code system is better than the monitoring system, the argument in the prompt is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions.

First, the argument is based on the assumption that their data of reported case is valid and can indicate success of the new system. However, reported cases do not equal reality. There are a variety of factors that can distort the report. For example, students might choose not to notify faculty when their friends cheat in the exams. They might even abuse the new system by intimidate other students to prevent them from informing faculties. Thus, even when the actual cases are the same, cheating are less likely to be caught after the new system was employed. For the same reason, the decrease from 21 cases to 14 cases per year might not represent the reality as students might become more adept in abusing the system and cover for each other. The argument also confounds numbers with percentages. Less reported cases do not guarantee less percentage of cheating. When the population of students is smaller, the numbers of reported cases would fall even when the ratio of cheating is the same. By the same token, the decrease of reported cases in the past five years might also reflect other changes in the university, such as fewer enrollment of students, different ways of scoring, or even the difference between newly-admitted students and those admitted before the new system. That's say if Groveton College choose to emphasize on integrity when they admit new students. As seniors and juniors graduate, Groveton College is replaced by the bunch of students with probity. Under such circumstance, the decrease might actually caused by the change of characteristics of the student population rather than the success of new system.

Second, the argument is based on the faulty assumption that the survey is representative, reliable, and valid. Since there is no detail concerning the sampling method of the survey, we cannot determine whether the survey results is representative, or just reflect the opinion from a few extremely biased students. Also, when it comes to survey questions, people are likely to give fake answers when they do not want to look bad in front of others. Thus, the survey results in which students self-report that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code can be misleading, as those who still cheat under honor code might not reveal their own behavior. In addition, without the content of the questionnaire, we can not determine whether the survey questions are well-written. It is possible that the question concerning new system is mixed with a lot of irrelevant questions, which will result in higher probility that students missed the question or did not fully express their view.

Finally, the indication of "other university similar to Groveton's" is vague. What does it mean by "similar"? Does it indicate that these schools are in the same province? Or that these schools have similar ratio of male and female students? Since the argument does not provide enough details as to how similar these schools are, and how does these similarities affect the potential influence of honor code system, it fails to justify that we should adopt such change to other schools.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.