Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field Write

Choosing one's field of study has been a challenging phase that most college students need to conquer. As more and more majors flourish in recent decades, it is quite likely that college students are baffled by too many choices and uncertain about how to determine their major. While some argue that students should consider future job availability when choosing their field of study, this article provide several evidence as to why talents and interests rather than job availability should be the primary and sole determinants when choosing one's field of study.

While many people argue that it is more practical to consider job availability when choosing one's major, the fact that job market is always fluctuating makes such suggestion a myopic one. To succeed in any field of study, years of rigid training and dedication are required. If one keeps follow the ever-shifting trend in job market, they are quite likely end up being a dilettante in several popular fields of study with no specific expertise. For example, I have a friend Mike who is always learning the most popular things as that time, such as Fin-tech, artificial intelligence or data science. Since he was always attracted by the newest field of study, the time and effort he spent on each fields is quite limited. It doesn't surprise us to find that his understanding of these fields are quite superficial.

In addition, according to studies in educational psychology, interests is one of the critical predictors for future success in any field. According to the studies, those who score higher on interests engage in the class more attentively, visit office hours more often and also spend more time reviewing the materials. In contrast, forcing students to study what they have no interest in leads to higher possibility of flunking a subject and lower score regarding academic satisfactory.

Talents and interests might lead students astray in some cases since some profession like athlete or pianist are quite competitive. There are at least millions of people fond of playing piano and hope to make a living by playing piano while only a small percentage of them can realize such ambition. However, for most of the career, years of dedication can often ensure a respectful job in related field. Thus, the case in which following one's talents and interests is not optimal is rare.

In conclusion, talents and interest can not only navigate people through the ever-changing job market but increase the likelihood of future succeed in any field.