The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the

While it might be true that we should provide UltraClean to all hospitals for it is better than other kinds of hand soaps, this argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions. Primarily, the assumption that UltraClean is better than the liquid hand soap used before is based on flawed evidence.

First, we should not extrapolate the experiment results conducted in certain hospitals to the whole hospital system. Since the research is conducted in a few hospitals, it might be influenced by some factors restricted in these areas, such as code for medical staff to sanitize their hands or endemic diseases that struck these hospitals. Thus, such evidence is not valid enough to generalize to the whole hospital system. To give another example, it is indicated that UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in their hospitals. However, it is possible that the hand soaps in these hospitals are dated, which makes them ineffective. If that is true, then the change to use UltraClean is unnecessary, they only have to renew the soap currently used to prevent patient infection.

In addition, it is also claimed that during a subsequent test the hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in their group. However, there might be other reasons why the hospital in Workby has fewer cases of patient infection. First, we should not confound numbers with percentages. It is possible that there are less patients in the hospital in Workby, which resulted in fewer cases even if the UltraClean is not better than other soaps. Second, there are many other alternative explanations for fewer cases in Workby, such as better sanitization process for medical workers, cleaner environment, and superior anti-infection drugs. If these factors are the true reasons why there are fewer cases of infection in the hospital in Workby, then providing UltraClean will not prevent serious infection from happening.

Even if the aforementioned studies are representative and valid, the indication that 40% of bacteria are reduced is vague. What kinds of bacteria are reduced? Are the bacteria reduced the primary cause of infection? If the bacteria reduced in these studies are actually innocuous or even beneficial to human body, then the argument in the prompt will be invalidated.

In conclusion, with these unwarranted assumptions and flawed evidence, the argument fails to justify that we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system to prevent serious patient infection.