According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument is flawed for a numerous reasons. Primarily, the assumption that the quality of the movies is good, is unjustified. Because, the quality of the movies may be bad, the argument that the Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget to advertise does not help with the awareness of the public.

Citing the report, the author assumes that only a fewer people attend Super Screen produced movies in the last year than in any other year. However, considering that the survey collected the data from a selected group of people, the validity ad integrity of the report is questionable. For example, if a survey is done on a group of people where in the percentage of attending a Super Screen movie is 10% and in another set of people, the attendance is 80%, the survey done on these two groups altogether can have around 75% . Comparing this with the past years' percentage, however, the past year's percentage may be greater. Therefore, allocating a greater share for advertising even if people are already aware about Super Screen movies is not appreciable. To strengthen this argument, the survey should be conducted on the majority of the people who attended movies.

Another assumption is that the percentage of positive reviews by reviewers increased during the past year. Despite assuming the fact that the report was conducted on a large populace, the quality of the movie cannot be determined by the increased percentage of positive reviews by the movie reviewers. For one, there is no information about whether the positive reviews are for the Super Screen movies or for the Normal Screen movies. If the Normal Screen movies had all the positive reviews , the quality of the Super Screen movies cannot be determined. Secondly, there is no information about the negative reviews rated by the reviewers. If there are more negative reviews than the positive reviews, then the quality of the Super Screen movie is bad. Therefore, increasing the budget for advertising may not help the public, to be aware of a "bad" movie.

To strengthen the argument, information regarding whether the positive reviews were given for the Super Screen movies and also regarding the negative reviews of the Super Screen movies should be given. Building upon the lack of information about the reviews, the argument assumes that the positive reviews come from various persons. Despite assuming the fact that the reviews are for the Super Screen movies, the reviews may have come from a small set of people biased towards Super Screen movies. This, however does not ensure the quality of the Super Screen movie. For example, if 10 people vote 100 times for the Super Screen movie, the number of positive reviews will be more. Therefore, increasing the budget for advertising may not help .

Because the argument assumes about the nature of the reviews and the report, the quality of the Super Screen movie may not be determined . Hence, the argument that increasing in advertising a possible "bad" movie is invalid.