According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actu

The argument states that the number of people who saw the Super Screen- produced movies were fewer than in any other year and yet the proportion of positive reviews by reviewers about such movies increased during the past year. The argument further claims that the reach of the reviews is limited and further investment must be made to increase the said reach through advertising. Stated this way, the argument is a far stretch and it readily assumes a lot of things which we will discuss in detail below.

Firstly, the argument assumes that as the percentage of positive reviews has increased, it has become hugely positive in quantitative terms. The case might be that the percentage of positive reviews might have increased from 32 percent to 34 percent. The argument assumes that this slight increase will sway the public in the positive direction and should improve the actual number of people watching the movies. The arugment could have been better had the marketing department asked the question that by how much percent the actual increase has happened and whether this increase in the percentage of positive reviews has landed the final percentage close to or above 50 percent. A yes-answer to this question could have well justified the additional budget spending on advertisement.

Secondly, the argument believes that the quality of the movies is good and at par with the expectation of the regular movie goers. This statement is a stretch as the recent movie viewers might not be the regular movie viewers and might not know on what parameters a movie should be judged. For example, during COVID-19 times, the footfall of the movie viewers reduced but the reviews for the movies became positive by a huge margin as per Rotten Tomatoes, a movie critic rating engine. Further analysis showed that since those who were willing to take the risk to watch a movie during the covid times were not the actual movie viewers but people who were bored of the lockdown. Thus, the movie reviews were inflated in the positive sense and the content of the movie was below par. The marketing department should have asked the question about the experience of the movie viewers with respect to the judgement of the movies for an effective analysis of the quality of the movie on the screen. An answer to this question would have justified the additional spending on advertisement.

The argument stated is the current way is not full proof and lacks a careful analysis. The argument can be made better by addressing the aforementioned questions and then draw conclusions basis the answers to all such questions.