"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies ac

In the above passage the author concludes that Super-Screen productions should allocate a greater share of its budget to reaching the public through advertising. The authors claims are inadequate and it needs to answer some unknown questions that are not mentioned in the passage. Hence before giving out a verdict Super-Screen productions should first analyze it a bit more and then take a decision.

Firstly, no where in the passage the genre of the movies are mentioned. The target audience depends on the type of movies. There is a possibility that this year Super Screen might have produced an animated movie which targets children below the age of 15. Clearly this will reduce the number of viewers from the past year if in the past year a movie of universal category was produced. Hence, first the author should analyze the types of movies that Super Screen productions have produced.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that there is an increase in ratings though the number of viewers have decreased. Again going by the example mentioned in the above passage, it is also possible that the animation movie produced was an amazing film and it was better than the movies produced in the previous years. So clearly this logic justifies the claims of the author. So here the concern for the production house is not advertising but the types of movies it has produced and it should produce in the future.

Thirdly, there is also a possibility that advertising might be just a small part of the problems that the production house is facing. Other factors such as selection of actors, locations,...etc might also play a big role. In India there are certain outstanding films but because of an underrated actor: it did not achieve greater heights that it should have achieved. Thus the selection of actor, its production cost and many other factors are not mentioned in the passage. To conclude this, one needs answers for some of the questions that I have asked.

Hence the author should first answer some unknown question and address the root cause of the problem that Super Screen productions is facing.