According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The logical flow of this argument seems to me as following. 1)The review rates are high, so the quality is good enough. 2) Fewer number of people has attended movies last year; therefore, they do not know about the movies. 3) Since they do not know about our movies, while they are of high quality, we should advertise more. This arquments, however, is not well supported and there are myriad questions which need to be answered before taking any measure.

First, the mere fact that the percentage of positive reveiws about specific movies has increased last year is not an indication of their high qualities. Although the percentage has increaced, it is possible that the total number of people who think their product are well-produced has increased. Moreover, the percentage is about specific products, not all. There is a chance that while people think those specific movies are of good quality, other products have been inferior than all movies produced that year. In order to decide wether or not the quality of the movies have been good enough, I need to know the number of people who were asked. Moreover, the reviewers should be asked about all the movies of this company as well as those of other companies.

Secondly, the fact that the number of people atteded the Super Screen(SS) movies has decreased does no proof that they are not aware of the SSs' procucts. In fact, the decline might have been the result of other factors. For exmaple during that specific year there may have been a special event like workd-cup or olympics, and people may have been busy with these events. It is also possible that people have had a severe financial problem, and they had to work and they have not enough time and money to attend. Moreover, people may have prefered to watch these products in their home rather than going to cinemas simply because the equipment available at home has became more effictive and convinient. Before making any decision, I need to know if there has been specific reasons that fewer people have attended to cinemas and how many individuals have watched these movies in their homes.

Finally, even if the quality is good enough and the reason that people do not attend their movies is because that they do not know about these products, it does not mean that they should increace the budget. The budget for advertising may be good, but they are not effective, and they should simply change the way they advertise. Therefore, I need to know how effective their methods of advetising are.