As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious

What that has differentiated us from other beings is knowledge and the ability to expand our knowledge. In this regard, the prompt asserts that the more we aqcuire knowledge, the more befudled we get. I, on the other hand, do not thoroughly accept this assertion. There are two types of knowledge: facts and ideas. In my opinion, the more we absorb ideas, the more solid our understanding becomes, while the more facts we cram in our minds, the more confused we get.

But what are facts? Facts are the detailed knowledge we get from the world. Like the mass of the earth, the numerical amount of the PI number, and the boiling temperature of water. These are a few number of facts that we all are familiar with. In order to remember the facts, we must memorize them or write them on pages or websites. Facts can be acquired readily by consulting a book or the Wikipedia.

On the other hand, ideas are the big picture of knowledge. Every object has mass including the Earth. When we multiply the diameter of a given circle with the PI number, we get the circumference, or when we heat the water, at some temperature it starts becoming vapor. Unlike facts, we tend to learn ideas more easily when we see them in nature: a school student who sees the evaporation of water in the science lab is much more likely to understant it than the student who reads it in a book.

When we start to cram details with no regard to the ideas--the big picture--, we make our mind saturated with some seprate, random details that left us befudeld. In contrast, if we try to learn the big picture--through carrying out experiments or even watching a documentry--we can connect those unrelated icelands of details.

Finally, let me draw an anology. We can say that the facts are like words, while the ideas are the context. Whereas best structured sentence does not make sence without context, making us confused, even a single word--a detail--can expand our knowledge.