"According to a recent report from our marketing department,during the past year,fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year.Clearly,the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers.Thus,the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it says that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the pubic through advertising. It is a good way for the movie company to expand the market to the potential audiences, but for Super Screen Movie Production Company, is it an effective strategy to improve its performance? Let us make a careful analysis about it as follows.

From a recent report of its marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. Above all, is the quality of the report from marketing department? Was it made in a scientific, objective way? Is the writer of the report professional or amateur? If he is a trainee, maybe the report is less reliable. And does the report cite from other organization or paraphrase the information on the network or did the market staffs make a deep investigation? The question is obvious——the report is worth for the Super Screen’s reference. Moreover, what’s the meaning of the words ‘fewer people’? 90%, 50% or 10%? Suppose that in the last year before, there were 5000 people who attended Super Screen-produced movies while in the last year, there were 4900. Did the difference of 100 produce a big influence on its earnings? No specific figures to explain the declining audiences to attend the company’s movies.

Yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. How many did the rising percentage of the positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific movies lat year? 1%, 2% or 10%? If there is only a small percentage, it may have fewer effects in the movie review market. If one or two specific movies had obtained good reviews, the majority was less positive, so these positive reviews could not represent the quality of all the movies produced by Super Screen. Perhaps, the movies of Super Screen are less popular in the market.

From the positive reviews, it’s possible that the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of its prospective viewers. Really? Who wrote these reviews? Famous or unknown reviewers? If they are unknown, fewer people will read these reviews even if they wrote in a real and objective way. And if famous reviewers wrote in an exaggerating and grandiloquent way in order to obtain commercial interest, it would be fewer and fewer people who believe their reviews so that they do not pay attention to such reviews and relevant films. In addition, are the contents of the reviews enough to attract people? Make sure that these reviews have a big influence on the movie market and on the audiences.

In the memo, the advertising director always emphasizes the high quality of Super Screen’ movies, owing to positive reviews from movie reviewers. As a matter of fact, compared with those produced by its competitors, these films are much less attractive to people, including flatuent tableau from the advanced film-making technology, superficial contents, fictitious plots, and so on. did Super Screen make an investigation about the audiences’ true viewpoints, not the reviewers ? After all, audiences are the true consumers, whose views are important to appraise the quality of the movies produced by Super Screen. However, in the memo, the fact that fewer people watch SS’s movies owes to the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Obviously, it is dogmatic. In modern society, there are a lot of avenues for people to find good movies, such as network, newspaper, radio, magazine, and so on. And good movies are easy to be disseminated among people through QQ, Wechat, and other social websites.

Therefore, the advertising director suggests taht Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. Indeed, advertising is a good way to arrive to its movies’ potential audiences, but for Super Screen, does it truly know the crux of the problem that fewer people attend its movies? Make clear the reasons that the declining numbers of audiences and then formulate a careful strategy for marketing in order to reverse the depressing situation.