Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separatestudies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobileaccidents versus only approximately 200 in fli

Certain airline representatives have argued that flying is safer than driving, and they are supporting this with two separate studies regarding deaths in travel accidents, and pilots involved in road accidents. We cannot dispute with the study results; however, we can question the basis on which they have conducted the studies. While the representatives' argument is plausible, but there are some questions which they should answer to maintain its integrity.

The first study claims that every year approximately 40,000 people die in road accidents compared to 200 in flights accidents. However, the argument fails to mention how many people had traveled in flight or by car in a particular year. If we assume that in a specific year 200 people traveled by air and 100,000 of those by road, then the study result would show a completely different picture, making roads safer. Furthermore, the argument also fails to mention the number of automobiles and planes involved in the study. By a general sense, there are more cars on the road than planes in the air, and subsequently, there would be more accidents (chances of failure) on the road.

The second study result claims that the pilots are four times less likely to have accidents on the road, hence assuming that a pilot is a better driver than an average person. However, the argument fails to include the number of pilots, who were studied, and their driving habits. Pilots have a hectic job schedule, so they are driven by the airline's chauffeur and are less likely to drive around by themselves. This weakens the claim as the pilots involved in the study might have spent less time driving, making them less susceptible to accidents than an average person.

Additionally, the argument never mentions about the safety measures mandated and regulated by the government on the travel industry. The air safety measures are revised more often than road safety measures, making air travel safer over time. If the representatives prove this with evidence, then it would make their argument stronger.

In conclusion, the airline's representatives have made strong claims to prove their argument that flying is safer than driving, but their argument has failed to answer important questions on their study, therefore making their argument unacceptable as it stands.