Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors. Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20 percent more to construct their dorm

The university wants to build a new dormitory and, reflecting on their experiences with Gimmel Builders and Aleph Constructions, they arguing to hire Aleph Constructions as in the past they had lowest overall cost between the two. The assumptions on which the university is building this argument makes the argument untrue. It is possible that Aleph Constructions can build the dormitory at a lower cost; however, there are circumstances when hiring them can lead to spending more on the building.

The university assumes that the prices of the constructors have not changed in the last five years. If this is false, then they have to reconsider the constructors' positions according to their new prices. Further, the university is considering just the construction cost in the overall cost. If factoring in additional costs- transportation, the land, zoning costs, e.t.c- changes the picture, then the university's argument will fall apart.

Furthermore, the university believes that "nearly identical" buildings should have equal construction cost, and ignores that difference in price could be due to the difference in structure. Their belief makes Gimmel Builders look less economical when they could be more efficient and worth the money. The fact that Gimmel's building costs less in maintenance supports the idea that Gimmel could be a better choice over Aleph.

Additionally, the university also assumes that there are no other constructors in the region. A call for tenders can give them a better option than the two, and will also display them in an equitable position.

The university's decision to choose Aleph Constructions over Gimmel Builders is fair, but their weak assumptions make their argument, and their conclusion, unacceptable.