The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn

The city council of Town X wants to save money on the electricity bill by switching to LEDs from old bulbs, overtime. To support their proposal they are stating that LEDs burn brighter and cost the same as the old bulbs. However, their argument is weak because they are unable to explain the efficacy of LEDs over the old bulbs.

For their first supporting fact, the argument states that the LEDs burn brighter, this could mean that they will consume more energy. If this is true then instead of saving we will have to spend more money on the bill, which not our motive. They are not able to explain whether the new bulbs are more energy-efficient than the old ones, which would justify the switch to new LEDs. Unless they provide further information on the power consumption of LEDs and their output, we cannot assume that switching to LEDs would help the cause.

Secondly, they mention that LEDs cost the same as old bulbs, but this is just the one time cost associated with the lighting. We can incur this bulk cost over time as we use the LEDs, but they have not mentioned the additional costs which we need to consider; this could include installation charges, accessories charges( if any ), etc. Furthermore, they need to explain whether enduring this expenditure is worth it.

Additionally, there are several problems involved while installing new lighting. Firstly, can we retrofit the new LEDs on the old outlets or will we need to replace them too? If we need to replace them then we will also have to consider their cost. Secondly, do the new bulbs last as long as the old ones? If they do costs might decrease, but if they burn out quickly, however, the costs could increase. The council's proposition could be stronger if they can clarify the problems in their arguments and provide support to answer the aforementioned questions.

It is good to see that the council is thinking about saving electricity, indirectly saving money. But their proposal is not worth it as their supporting argument is weak. We can consider their proposal if they work on their facts, and answer the queries.