Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors. Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph's dormitory, however, has required approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert's claim. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author puts forth the argument that since the overall cost of construction and maintenance of Aleph constructed dormitories was less than that constructed by the Gimmel Builders for five years, the local university should hire Aleph Construction. However on deeper scrutiny, the argument turns out to be based on various big leaps of logic like - assuming that the buildings are exactly identical in the construction material, or that 5 years is suffiecient to calculate the overall cost, and the maintenance cost would not vary in the future. These assumptions must be warranted inorder to make the argument sound and strong.

Firstly, the author assumes that the two buildings are nearly identical means that the construction material employed in both of them were of same quality. It is quite possible that Aleph Construction group might have employed low quality and cheap material to lower the cost. Furthermore, the accessories fitted in the dormatories like fan, bulbs, electric heaters, refrigirators etc can be of very different qualities and hence donot make the comparision of the two dormatories justified as these factors are variable. If the Aleph dormatories have these appliances of lower range, then the assumption that the Aleph Construction is cheaper for identical buildings would fall down.

Also, by saying that overall cost of the Aleph constucted dormatories is lower to Gimmel constructed dormatories, author has take an unwarranted assumption that the life of the dormatories is for 5 years only. Is it not possible that the dormatories life span is of 20 to 50 years? In this case the overall cost would vary from the one that author calculates and it is plausible that overall cost of the Gimmel dormitory over the entire lifespan turns out to be lower than Aleph one. Therefore, the author must put forth the cost according to expected life of both the dormatories to evaluate their overall cost and not assume it to be 5 years to truly compare the two contractors.

Another loophole in the argument is posited by the assumption of stagnant maintenance cost. Since the construction cost for Aleph dormatories was less, there are chances that they are made up of lower quality raw materials and hence, their breakdown and maintenance cost would escalate with time. In this case, with the increasing time the maintenance rate of Aleph dormatories would rise at a much higher rate than the rise in maintenance prices of Gimmel buildings. Therefore, the author must warran the invariability of the maintenance costs to bolster his argument and negate the possibility discussed that could negatively affect the author’s conclusion.

To conclude, the author must justify these assumptions in order to make a solid case of comparision of the two construction consultancies. The author should also produce an unbiased and representative survey of the experience of the people living in those dormatories, so that we can account for the value of satisfaction of the people living while comparing the cost. In the absence of clarification of the above mentioned assumptions and experience survey, the judgment of the argument would have enormous logical fallacies and hence, would lead to erroneous decision.