Allergies are an overreaction of the immune system to certain stimuli. One view is that allergies can develop as the result of childhood exposure to certain irritants, such as dust or animal dander, while the immune system is not yet mature. Another view is that exposure to particular bacteria early in childhood actually triggers the proper development of the immune system, and that limiting exposure to these bacteria through excessive hygiene can cause children's immune systems to overreact to certain irritants later on. A new study supports the second view: children who are washed especially frequently and whose parents clean their homes especially frequently are more likely to develop allergies than are other children. So in order to reduce the incidence of allergies in children and adults, parents should not limit children's exposure to irritants or bacteria.

The given argument discusses two views related to the development of allergies. The first is that exposure to certain irritants like dust or animal dander during childhood can lead to allergies since the body's immune system is not fully developed in children. The second view is that the development of the immune system is activated by exposure to certain types of bacteria in childhood. The arguer cites the results of a new study and claims that they support the second view. The conclusion derived by the author might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author has highlighted many questions. Therefore, the premises in their current form are not cogent and the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions which make it more susceptible to attacks.

On the first facet, the author of the argument has not mentioned about the demographic region in which the study has been conducted. Maybe the study has been conducted in the area prone to allergies. Moreover, he has not provided the evidence for the study that has been conducted and it raises some questions. How many families were the subject for the study? He has also not mentioned about other factors that could have triggered allergies in the child. Maybe their homes situated in the places which are unhygienic and cleaning children and houses is not sufficient.

Secondly, the author has failed to examine the facts that what were the types of allergy that children encountered. It is likely that the allergies are genetic and they are having allergy because their parents have it or their grandparents had it. Moreover, allergies are developed from eating habits or using a certain kind of cosmetics or soap it's not just that cleaning children and house will be enough for avoiding allergies.

Additionally, there are other factors that develop allergies. Eating habits, playing habits and the environment in which you are. If a child is playing in mud then he is more likely to have an allergy than other who does not. If other child is having a certain allergy than it might transmit to other children with whom he/she is playing. Moreover, cleaning does not mean that you have successfully avoided the trouble of allergy until you do not clean with disinfectants. The children usually caught up the allergy by the bacterias and the irritants which are present in the environment despite cleaning.

In the crux, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with more evidence to make the case more convincing. However, the author failed to examine facts that there might be several other factors that could trigger an allergy in children and naively concluded, thereby rendering the argument indefensible.