An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the argument has cited that people are deficient in vitamin A in the impoverished nation of Tagus and to surmount it an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. The author claims that people will switch to this new breed and will be cured. The author's argument will look convincing at first glance. However, critical analysis of justification provided by the author has highlighted many questions. Therefore, the premises in its current form are not cogent and are based on unwarranted assumptions.

On the first facet, the author has mentioned that the government will provide subsidies to farmers for farming new variety of millet. However, the author has not provided any evidence for that. Moreover, it raises a question, how much subsidies will the farmer receive? If the cost of new variety of millet is $100 more per kg and farmers are receiving a subsidy for only $5 then they will be reluctant in growing new millet. And even if they grow millet than to compensate for the cost they will increase the price of the millet and therefore people will be reluctant to buy.

Moreover, the author has not provided any evidence or report on the new variety of millet. It raises a question, whether new millet is enough for the people to recover from vitamin A deficiency? If a new millet is not enough for the recovery of vitamin A deficiency then all the efforts will be in vain. Additionally, the author has not provided the reports for, how many people are affected by vitamin A deficiency? If the number of people is less then breeding a new variety of millet is not lucrative. And they can switch to other source of vitamin A which is more cheaper.

Additionally, the author has mentioned that the government should do everything to promote the new type of millet. But, the author has himself mentioned the impoverished nation of Tagus. It raises a question, is the government of Tagus is in condition to promote the new millet and give subsidies to farmers as well? If the government is not having enough funds to promote then the sale of the millet will not increase and people will not trust on new millet as the government itself is not promoting it. Moreover, the author has neglected the fact, Whether people can switch to other sources of vitamin A which is more cheaper than new millet? If they can easily substitue it than it will be more cheaper and usefu

In the crux, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated assumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with evidence to make it more convincing. Thereby, rendering the argument indefensible.