The surface of a section of Route 101, paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders, is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. Appian Roadways has recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery, and it has hired a new quality-control manager. Because of its superior work and commitment to quality, we should contract with Appian Roadways rather than McAdam Road Builders to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls.

The author of the argument cited that, the roads in one part of the state which was constructed by McAdam Road Builders two years ago has weathered down and is dangerous for the people traveling on that road. However, a road constructed four years ago by Appian Roadways in another part of the city is still in good condition. The conclusion derived by the author that Appian Roadways is a better choice for them to construct road might appear logical at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author has highlighted many questions. Therefore, the premise in their current form are not cogent and the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions which make it more susceptible to attack.

To begin with, the author has not taken into consideration the amount of traffic on each road. Maybe, Route 101 is the main highway and more frequently used by travelers or it is mostly used by heavy-duty vehicles such as loaded trucks or buses. It will surely lead to more wear and tear of the road if compared to other routes that have a low intensity of traffic. There might be a possibility that traffic on Route 66 is very low and people rarely use that route. Moreover, Route 101 can be the road which is connected to all the state and if anyone has to go from one part to other has to take Route 101.

Secondly, the author does mention about the new technology that Appian Roadways have recently acquired and has hired a new quality-control manager. However, the author does not mention anything about the technology which McAdam Road Builders have. There can be a possibility that McAdam Road Builders already have the technologies or even more advanced than Appian Roadways have recently acquired. The author does not mention anything about the new quality-manager Appian Roadways has hired because new always does not mean it is good. Maybe the former manager was far more skilled than the new one. Although, Appian Roadways may have acquired new technology and a new quality-control manager, but it does not imply that Appian Roadways would be more efficient in their working. Therefore, the author has not provided enough evidence to make the argument convincing.

Thirdly, the author should have also checked the quality of the materials that are used by both companies. Moreover, he should have the labor force and the skills of the manager who will lead the construction. That could have provided a more clear picture of the company which is to be preferred for the task. However, the author has failed to analyze the fact and failed to convince with the reasoning provided.

To sum up, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with more evidence to make the case stronger. The author should have compared both the companies on equal grounds. However, the author failed to examine the facts thereby rendering the argument indefensible.