The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines.

In a society there are so many people and each will have their own characteristics, but if consider a society as a whole then they will share a common belief and everyone in the society will adhere to it. Therefore, I concur with the point the author has made that if someone want to understand or study the character of a society then the best way is to examine the character of the men and women that society chooses as its heroes or its heroines.

As people in the society that have their heroes they will try there best to emulate them in every context. Therefore, if you are understanding the character of the society as a whole then understanding character of each and every person in the society is certainly not viable. However, understanding the character of their heroes/heroines will work upto much extent. For example, There are many religion that are being followed all around the world. But, if we want to study the society which follows a certain religion then understanding character of each and every person in this worlds is not pragmatic. However, if we study about the religion and the person who made people follow that religion is surely practical and the best way to get results.

Moreover, if we consider a small society in comparison to the mentioned above the problem remains the same. If you are able to understand the character everyone in that society then you will arrive at more or less same result that you may have simply acquired by studying their heroes/heroines. For example, In India, protagonist Mahatama Gandhi lead everyone on the path of non voilence to seek independence. The people who followed Mahatama Gandhi made a society and followed everything he told. To study the character of that society one can easily do it by studying the characteristics of Gandhi as people in the society followed him and although there will be some deviations in the character of people but they will share a ubiquitous goal and mentality.

Additionally, in many villages certain cultures are being followed. And if someone in the society try to be an iconoclast then that society either does not let him or it will remove that person from the society. For example, In India many villages have certain norms regarding females. Females are not allowed to go outside house and are denied for the education. If someone in the society wants to study they are either coerced to leave village or to leave education. And these norms in the society are set by ancestors who are still being followed because they are termed as heroes.

In the crux, the best approach to reach to a reuslt in studying a society's character is to study their idols. That will give you a more clear picture of what society thinks and how society reacts to a particular problem.